The conscious mind

The Power of Consciousness. The conscious mind is what you know of at any particular moment.  It includes your present feelings, feelings, ideas, fantasies.

There are two facets to the superego: One is the conscience, which is an internalization of punishments and warnings.   It derives from positive models presented to the kid and rewards.  The conscience and ego ideal communicate their needs to the ego with feelings of pride, shame, and guilt.

The superego works based on the morality principle.   It seeks what is good and moral above everybody else.  In that sense, Freud contended that it is just as foolish as the identification.  Like the ego, the superego functions on all levels of awareness.

Freud believed that character has three constructions: the id, the ego, and the superego.

Sigmund Freud

3 Components of character

It operates on all three levels of consciousness (the conscious, preconscious, and unconscious levels of the mind).  The self, or portion of the psyche that’s your sense of self, has a very difficult job.  It must satisfy both superego and  id.  The id’s primitive needs must be gratified by it within the constraints of reality and inside the criteria of the superego.

Sigmund Freud (1856-1939), the father of psychoanalysis, spent much of his life developing an elaborate concept of how the psyche, or mind, operates.  Central to Freud’s theory, and perhaps his greatest contribution to psychology, is the knowledge that mind consists of components which are unconscious, preconscious, and conscious

  • The latent stage lasts out of five, six, or seven to puberty. During this phase, Freud thought that the impulse was suppressed in the support of learning.

The attention of delight is the genitalia.   Masturbation is common.


As I mentioned earlier, for Freud, the sex drive is the most important motivating force.    Freud noted that, at different times in our lives, different parts of our skin provide us greatest pleasure :

Sigmund Freud’s personality Concept

The superego is the arrangement of personality.  It’s  ” the ethical branch” of character.  The superego takes into consideration whether something is right or wrong.  The previous part of the mind to develop is the superego.  At six or five years old, we start to find out about the norms, rules, and values of society.  Freud argued that children internalize these rules to form the superego, which serves as a very conscience.

We’re born with all the identification and it residues inside the unconscious.

Conscious, presconscious and subconscious

Animal instincts including impulses drive the id.  It functions according to the fun principle.  This seeks to maximize enjoyment and minimize any discomfort.   Thus, it is a demand to take care of needs.  The identification is illogical.  It seeks pleasure to what’s moral, safe, or practical.  It affects our behavior, although Freud contended that we aren’t conscious of the identification.

Has an issue with both of these layers of thoughts.  However, Freud suggested that these would be the tiniest parts!    The largest part is theunconscious.  It comprises all of the things which aren’t easily accessible to consciousness,  According to Freud, the unconscious is the source of our motivations, whether they be simple desires for neurotic compulsions or sex, food, or even the motives of an artist or scientist.

The Freudian arrangement of character that deals with the requirements of reality.  The ego is called the “executive branch” of personality because it makes decisions.  The ego and the identification have no morality.  They don’t take into account whether something is wrong or correct.  Freud posted the self is the second part of the mind.

Life instincts along with the death instinct

The stages

The ego functions based on the reality principle because its job is to gratify the id in accord with reality.  Ego is responsible for taking care of a need as a proper object is found.

Preconscious (accessible memory) involves anything that may easily be made conscious. It contains memories you are not at the moment thinking about but can readily bring to mind.

  • The oral stage lasts from birth to about 18 months. The attention of pleasure is, clearly, the mouth.   Sucking and biting are favorite activities.
  • The anal stage lasts from approximately 18 months to four or three decades old. The focus of pleasure is your anus.   Holding it and letting it move are greatly enjoyed.
  • The genital period begins at puberty and signifies the resurgence of the sex drive in adolescence, and the more particular focusing of delight in sexual sex. Freud felt that masturbation, oral sex, homosexuality, and different things today, we find acceptable in maturity, were immature.

Freud started to believe that “beneath” and “with” the life instincts there was a death instinct.  He started to believe that each individual has an unconscious wish to perish.

life instincts.  These instincts perpetuate (a) the life of the individual, by motivating him or her to seek out food and water, and (b) the life of these species, by motivating him or her to have intercourse.  The motivational energy of these life instincts that he predicted libido

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *